Union Territories in India

International Airports in India
March 24, 2017
Famous Indian Foods Part 2
March 28, 2017

          India as a nation has long history. After Independence when India was made sovereign nation, some of the areas within the geographical limit of India was strategically important. These special geographical areas were administered directly by the center( Union government) and hence was given the name Union territory. Now we’ll look at the Union territory in India and will discuss the interesting features of these special geographical entities.


The Union Territory of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands, is situated between 6° and 14° North Latitude and 92° and 94° East Longitude. The islands located north of 10° north latitude are known as Andaman Group of islands while islands located south of 10° north latitude are called Nicobar Group of islands.
            Located in the Bay of Bengal, it is an archipelago consisting of about 600 islands out of which only around 36 islands are inhabited.  In earlier times, the islands were referred to as Kalapani for their notorious penal settlement.


Chandigarh is a fully grown town of most modern architectural splendour. The city nestles in a picturesque setting in the foothills of Shivalik hills and enjoys the popular epithet the “City Beautiful”.
             Chandigarh and the area surrounding it were constituted as a Union Territory on 1 November 1966.   It serves as the joint capital of both Punjab and Haryana States. It is bound on North and West by Punjab and on the East and South by Haryana.


          Dadra and Nagar Haveli is a union territory. It lies near the west coast and consists of two separate parts. Dadra is surrounded by the state of Gujarat, and Nagar Haveli lies on the borders of Maharashtra and Gujarat.
         The Union Territory covers an area of 491 square kilometers. It was a former Portuguese colony and it is predominantly a rural area with about 79 % of tribal population .


Daman and Diu along with Goa was a colony held by the Portuguese, even after the Independence. Daman  lies about 193 km away from Mumbai.
         It is bound on the east by Gujarat, on the west by the Arabian Sea, on the north by the Kolak River, and on the south by Kalai river.
         Diu is an island connected by two bridges. The neighbouring district of Diu is Junagadh of Gujarat.


Delhi is the capital of India and the second most populated city in the country. The city is spread over an area of 1,484 sq. km.   The city is the largest commercial center in the northern part of India.
           It was made a Union Territory in 1956. Lying in the northern part of the country, Delhi is surrounded by Haryana on all sides except the east, where it borders with Uttar Pradesh. The 69th Constitutional amendment is a milestone in Delhi’s history, as it got a Legislative Assembly with the enactment of the National Capital Territory Act, 1991.


Lakshadweep, in the Arabian Sea, is a part of the Indian subcontinent and is recognised as the smallest union territory of India. Lakshadweep means “hundred thousand islands” in Malayalam and Sanskrit.
        The whole of Lakshadweep is nothing but a set of small islands situated near each other. It comprises a total of twelve coral atolls, five banks, three coral reefs, and several islets. The union territory was formed on 1 November 1956. The state animal is the butterfly fish, and the state bird is the sooty tern. The state tree is bread fruit. The languages spoken here are Malayalam, Hindi, Mahi and Tamil.


It was under the French rule for 138 years and merged with the Indian Union on 1st November 1954.
It is bounded on the east by the Bay of Bengal and on the three sides by Tamil Nadu.
          About 150 kms south of Pondicherry on the East Coast lies Karaikal. Mahe is situated on the Malabar coast on the Western Ghats surrounded by Kerala. Yanam is situated adjoining the East Godavari district of Andhra Pradesh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *